photo-a-day: 12-19

Sorry for lumping an entire week together. It was a hard week and the days got away from me. Without further ado, let’s get to the good stuff.

12: Colorful
DSC_0040
Few things in the world make me smile like flowers. During this week’s Target run, I couldn’t resist these roses. Can’t remember the last time I had roses. They cost the same as the other bouquets but roses just feel special.

13: Makes me smile
DSC_0024
Thanks to our wooded lot, there are lots of fat little squirrels running around. They chase each other through the trees, leaping from branch to branch. I watched this little guy for quite awhile, as he grabbed pod after pod for lunch. He definitely made me smile.

14: 3 things
DSC_0044
I bought these three lovelies from the ladies at Things With Wings, a family of local Iowa artists.

15: Black and white
DSC_0150 (2)
So technically, this guy is brown and white but close enough. 🙂 We live just down the road from a huge reservoir home to a huge number of migrating geese. I love to stop there and listen to the racket they make. One day as I drove by, I spotted this bald eagle in the trees. I raced home to grab my camera and then parked and tried to get close enough to get a good shot. As I moved around, he kept an eye on me and eventually, he soared off when I got a little close for comfort. I’ve never seen one up close. He was so big and so beautiful.

16: Sun
DSC_0251
This has been a weird weather week, with below-zero temps and then warm, sunny days. Mooster took full advantage of the sunshine.

17: Tiny
DSC_0122 (2)
We have tons of chickadees that visit our feeder and they are so much fun–they move so quickly, zipping around from branch to branch. This guy flies to the feeder, takes one seed, and then returns to the branch to crack it open. Such an exercise in patience.

18: Happy place
DSC_0002
After a stressful, tiring day, there is absolutely no place I would rather be than right here with my little furry loves.

19: Breakfast
DSC_1025
Mr. Phish had today off, so we headed to our favorite breakfast spot, The Waveland Cafe. I had blueberry pancakes and a big ol’ side of delicious hashbrowns. It was amazing, as per usual. The hashbrowns are like crack. I could go back every day to eat them.

Have a good week. I hope to have a  midweek post of photos but we’ll see how it goes!

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

