from garden to growling tummy

This weekend, my parents came to visit. They almost never come, because doing so requires a relief pharmacist. And there are only a handful of relief pharmacists in rural Nebraska, and even fewer who want to work Saturdays. A weekend off is an exceedingly rare thing for them. So I was pretty stoked when they said they wanted to head west.

We did lots of fun DSM things: farmer’s market, West End Architectural Salvage, Junkin’ in the Junction, and Zombie Burger + Drink Lab.

While we were out and about, I was so busy having fun that I didn’t take any pictures. Sorry about that.

But I digress. When my parents arrived, they came bearing gifts. Specifically, goodies from their garden.
DSC_0549
My parents were both gifted with green thumbs, so they grow pretty much anything they want to grow. It’s an annoying but delicious fact. This year, my dad added cilantro and onion to the garden to make his own salsa. Impressive.

Tonight, I made dinner using all of those homegrown veggies. And after about an hour of chopping, sauteing and baking, I ended up with this:
DSC_0554
That, my friends, is ooey gooey yumminess. Or, more officially, Big Mike’s Garden Baked Ziti. With a side of crusty toasted asiago focaccia bread. And yes, it was every bit as delish at it appears.

I despise the heat and humidity of summer, but there’s something to be said for super fresh veggies from your dad’s garden.

2 thoughts on “from garden to growling tummy

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

