being a parent is hard work

I apologize for the silence on the blog. Things have been crazy and confusing and hard lately, and my little brain is moving at warp speed so much that there’s rarely enough energy left at the end of the day to compose a coherent blog post.

I have a real original nugget of wisdom to share with y’all today. Are you ready? Brace yourselves for this one: Being a parent is hard work.

I know, right?! Shocking! Amazing! What an original thought!!

I’m not a parent, of course, so I wouldn’t know. But the last two weeks have shown me that parenting is serious stuff. No sissies allowed.

They start out all cute and wrinkly but the cuteness fades surprisingly quickly at 3:30am when you’ve logged 25 minutes of sleep in the last 48 hours and all you want is for the blessed child to shut up.

My sister and I talk, a lot, and these conversations give me a tiny window into what it must be like to parent a newborn. The only word that comes to mind is exhausting. And newborn plus two-and-a-half-year-old? Fuggedahboudit. I’d be toast. Those kiddos would eat me alive. My sister appears to be made of stronger stuff, thank goodness.

These conversations inevitably make me think about my mom. She was home with four kids at once. FOUR. Take a minute and think about that: four kids under the age of 5. If that’s not enough to make you shudder, then you’re not really thinking about what that might look and sound and smell and feel like.

When I think about it, it terrifies me. My little brain just cannot understand how she did it. I get fatigued just thinking about one child. Four is simply beyond comprehension.

And babies are just the tip the iceberg. At least babies are cute. Sullen, angry tweens are not cute. They are defiant and mean and they stomp on your heart. But then they go off to college and fall in love and then they go find their own lives, which must also be terrifying and exhausting. What will they do? Who will they be? How will it all turn out?

I think I’ll stick to boogies for now. This sweet girl is about all I can handle these days.

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

