cut

Let me just put it out there, unapologetically: I have beautiful hair.

I always have. It is thick and full and healthy. Great shine, awesome chocolate brown color.

True story: In high school, I secretly thought I could be a Pantene hair model. Yep. My hair is that good.

The fly in the ointment is that I don’t really love doing my hair. It’s a lot of work. It takes a lot of time. The washing, the drying, the straightening, the brushing.

It is my favorite feature, but I rarely go to the trouble of doing it.

My sister, the stylist, hates me for this. She has wispy, hard-to-style hair. And she works in an industry where you can’t just throw it up in a bun every day and call that a hairstyle.

I go in phases of long and short. I grow it out and then I get tired of it and cut it all off. This cycle started about 10 years ago.
hair
The top pictures are from ten years ago. Forgive the Ohio State sweatshirt–I was young and I actually went to school there.

The bottom pictures are more recent. The hair on the left is my wedding hair. Doesn’t it look like Pantene hair? Seriously. Is it just me?

The long/short cycle is a love/hate thing for me. I love the funkiness of short hair but I hate spending the money to get it trimmed all the damn time. I love the ease of long hair (hello washing three times a week!) but I hate how heavy and blah my hair gets.

So today, I got tired of my long hair and decided it was time. I’ve been wearing it in a bun on the top of my head every dang day. I love the bun and the full bangs, but my sister has been gently suggesting that it’s time for a change. This time, I brought my camera to document this thrilling process for you. You’re welcome!

Here’s the before shot, taken by my super fantastic and amazing stylist:
DSC_0196

And one from the back (gah. s-o-o-o-o loong):
DSC_0197

I have donated to Locks of Love before, so this time I decided to do something different. I found the Pantene Beautiful Lengths program and I was in. Pantene donates wigs to women who are fighting any kind of cancer. The hair had to be 8 inches long to donate to the Pantene program.

Elizabeth gathered my hair into little ponytails and, a few heavy snips later, it was done.
DSC_0200
I ended up with five or six little ponytails of hair. The Kimberly Caldwell photo was my inspiration photo.

I must pause here to interject that my stylist, Elizabeth, is freaking phenomenal. Girl came to DSM from Chicago and she. is. the. bomb. I don’t think people here really appreciate her skill set. This woman worked at Maxine’s in Chicago and was featured in InStyle, Allure, and the Chicago Sun Times. She trained with Shu-eumura, for crying out loud. She’s the shit.

But I digress. Are you dying to see the finished product? Ta-da!
0328131730
Forgive the crappy cell phone shot in my car. It’s a big change but, hey, it’s just hair. It will grow back.

I love donating my hair. I’m so proud of my beautiful, healthy hair and I love knowing that it will go to a woman who is fighting the battle of her life.

9 thoughts on “cut

  1. Love that cut!! Really nice! Now you have inspired me go for a trim too. Haha. I’ve been keeping my hair short since I got a kid. Saves me more time, but the maintenance is demanding and because I don’t make frequent trips to the hairdresser, my hair looks crap half the time 😦

    But anyway you go girl! So nice that you are able to gift the beautiful hair to someone in need.

    • Thanks, Zee! My least favorite thing about short hair is the need for frequent hair cuts–I do NOT like spending money on hair. Clothes, yes. Hair, not so much.

  2. First, I can totally relate to this! I mean everything in this post could be talking about me (other than the fact that I did not just cut my hair short). Second, love the short hair, it is super cute!!!

  3. It is wonderful that you can donate your hair. I only wish that I could donate mine as it grows so fast. Due to medication that I have been forced to take, I no longer can donate hair or blood, I admire women like you who still can.

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

