business woman of the year! (part 1)

Last weekend, we made the trek to Nebraska to celebrate my mom being named Business Woman of the Year. It’s an award given by the community–each year for the last 10 years, they have honored a woman in the community for her contributions to business.

I know I’m biased, but my mom is pretty freaking awesome. I hope I’m half as awesome when I’m 60, though I highly doubt I will be (sorry future kids).* She is also extremely humble, so receiving this award was a little bit hard for her. She doesn’t think there’s anything special about what she does–she just shows up, works hard, and does what needs to be done.

But she’s special. My parents have been independent small business owners for 34 years. They built a tiny store with a few cosmetics into a destination. People come to the town specifically to shop there.

Some of that is my dad–his patience and helpfulness and pure kindness make people customers for life.

But much of it is my mom–her creativity, her tenacity, her eye for buying, her willingness to take risks and think outside of the box. The store has demanded much of our family–the sacrifices are too numerous to count. But it has given us much, as well. My parents took a great leap of faith in buying the store, and it turned out to be a venture that allowed each of them to do things they are really really good at. I honestly don’t know how they find the energy to work 70-hour weeks, but I couldn’t be any more proud of them.

Enough with the sap. Let’s get to the pictures!
DSC_0076
Lulu working the room before the fancypants luncheon started–can we just talk for a minute about how cute she is here? The white dress, the funky jacket, the blingy necklace, the peep-toe. Seriously. The cuteness is epic.
DSC_0100
They created programs using the awning and logo of the store. The store is known for the green awning–it’s been around since, well, pretty much forever.
DSC_0163
That’s my dashing father, flanked by my sister (aka the cutest pregnant girl in the history of the world), and my brother and sister-in-law. I wish I had a better photo of my little bro–he’s rocking a beard and is pretty cutie patootie himself. ((sigh)) It’s kind of a downer to spend so much time with such over-the-top cute people. It really wears you out.
DSC_0166
My mom gave a little acceptance speech, thanking everyone and talking a bit about what it means to own a small business. I love this photo, as I think you can see a glimpse of my mom’s passion for what she does–she exudes it.
DSC_0189
The table centerpieces were genius–wine bottles painted with chalkboard paint. They said we could take them as souvenirs, and Mr. Phish and my sister-in-law were pretty stoked.
DSC_0200
The fancypants luncheon was only half of the celebration, though. More on the after party tomorrow…
*My dad is also freaking awesome, but this one’s all about Lulu. Sorry Pops.

7 thoughts on “business woman of the year! (part 1)

  1. Congrats to your mum! I love the table centerpiece! And can I just say I really enjoy your writing. So glad you’re blogging again. 🙂

  2. Pingback: our year in review: 2013 | this clever camera

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

