best target trip EVER

This afternoon, I ran to the nearby SuperTarget to get a few groceries. At least I intended to get a few groceries. An hour later, I toted my two bags out to the car. And I noticed something stuck to my windshield. I didn’t give it much thought, figuring it was an advertisement for the local Chinese buffet. I reached around and pulled it off.

And then I read it.

And then I began to laugh hysterically.

For the next ten minutes, I sat in the Target parking lot with tears streaming down my face. I was laughing so hard I couldn’t drive. I couldn’t speak. I couldn’t breathe.

Before I show you this, I want to remind you that I live in Iowa. The state where you can legally marry a partner of your choice, man or woman. The state where the current president held his final campaign rally. The state that is home to one of the most LGBT-friendly cities in the U.S. It’s a pretty progressive place, which is one of the things I love about it.

And today, my dear bloggy friends, I received this anonymous note:
DSC_4101

The best best BEST part of this is that the person who left the note obviously meant it in a malicious, mocking way. And I found such delight in it. Sheer and utter delight.

I haven’t stopped smiling, and it’s been like five hours. I am tickled by the fact that someone paid money for these printed sticky notes and they just drive around sticking them to random cars. It’s just too good to be true.

Guess Iowa’s not quite as blue as we thought.

Anyone know where I can get a few more Obama stickers?

8 thoughts on “best target trip EVER

  1. I live in a fairly conservative town, and I’m surprised I haven’t seen/heard of more like these. It’s been such a divisive election — crazy divisive. It’s amazing to me that someone had the audacity to put that on your car. Really? This helps, how?

    • It is a pretty bold move. I wish there was a way to repair the dividing lines but four years later (with another four to come), people here are obviously still bitter. And vocal.

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

