a crazy day

I work in an industry that is closely aligned with tax laws, specifically income, gift and estate tax laws. After President Obama’s late-night fun with the auto pen, we walked in to a cacophony of 2,000 clients wanting to know what the heck was going on. Today was the single most stressful and overwhelming day since I started working there nearly two years ago.

After 8 full hours of brainstorming, editing, writing, rewriting, consulting, conferring, meeting, answering client phone calls, putting out fires, changing articles and updating content, I came home and went immediately upstairs.

I then spent the next hour here:
DSC_4050

I cranked the classical station and turned off the lights. It took a full 60 minutes to soften the edges of the day.

While I was soaking, I was joined by one very curious boogie.
DSC_4062

It’s been years since I took a bath, and I had forgotten that Bella is fascinated by the water. She loves to chase my toes under the water, reaching her little furry paw in after them and then shaking it vigorously.

All in all, a rather lovely ending to a decidedly unlovely day.

7 thoughts on “a crazy day

  1. Nothing like a nice bubble bath after a stressful day to help one feel better. Hope tomorrow’s work day will be much better for you. Love the picture of Bella coming to join you and look for your toes….so cute! Hugs and nose kisses

  2. I have worked hard to not hear about what’s happened, ignoring emails, petitions, talk radio, and the news. I am sorry about your day but, seriously, what a beautiful ending. Lovely photos…and a bath sounds like a great idea. Why do you call your cats boogies?

    • It’s just my funny little name for them. It started with Isabelle, who is also Bella, Miss Boo, Boo-Boo, and Isaboogie. Then when we got Genevieve, she became Jeeveyboog. Or, on more formal occasions, J. Boog. Then they all just became boogies. I’m quirky like that. 🙂

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I LOVE your picture of the candle with the bubbles! My cats lean over the edge of the tub to try to drink the bathwater and have been known to fall in on occasion. That takes a little of the relaxation out of the whole bath experience!

    • I would freak if she fell in! I do love the company though, and it cracks me up when she dips her paw in and then shakes it like, holy crap! I’m wet! Kitties are funny.

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

