fizzy fall favorite

Day 12: Drink

I must begin this post by saying that I don’t drink much pop. I get my daily caffeine from my lovely hazelnut coffee, and if I drink pop after about 2pm, I usually have trouble sleeping (I’m such an old lady).

I drink 7-up when my stomach is upset, and wild cherry Pepsi when I’m feeling nostalgic. Every so often, I go on an ginger ale kick. Throw in the occasional diet Dr. Pepper to beat the afternoon sleepiness, and that’s about it.

Until now. Last year, I happened upon a magical beverage:

This, my friends, is Diet Sierra Mist Cranberry Splash.

I sense your skepticism, and I understand. It doesn’t sound like much.

I don’t drink Sierra Mist. Ever. But this, this is the most amazing, delicious, refreshing thing ever. I like cranberry-flavored things, but this isn’t overly twangy or tart. It’s a delicate combination of bubbly crispness with just a hint of cranberry sweetness. Words don’t do it justice.

And if you happen to have some vodka around, mix and YUM.

One word of caution: whereas the diet version is sublime and delicious, the regular version is overly sweet and icky. So stick with the diet. Then you won’t have any guilt when you drink one (or more) each and every day. Or so I’ve heard.

But be warned: it is seasonal. It appears sometime in September and disappears before Christmas. So if you want to try it, go. Go now.

P.S. If you live in the greater Des Moines metro area, don’t bother looking. The city’s existing stock of this magical beverage is currently stacked in neat towers in my living room. Sorry. But not really.

4 thoughts on “fizzy fall favorite

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

