my people

Day 25: People

I’m generally an introvert. And by generally, I mean that even thinking about “fun” things like cocktail parties and get-togethers after work makes me break into a cold sweat. I blame my antisocial father. And my deep love of reading. I don’t make friends easily. I never have.

In the last ten years, I’ve lived in four states, attended three universities, and hung my photos on the walls of seven apartments.

There have been high points. And many, many low points. Many things have gone wrong. I have struggled. A lot.

But I have also realized that I’m lucky. Like, crazy lucky. Win-the-lottery lucky.

Because I have people.

And these people, they are my treasure. My blue sky. My heart. My people.

Mr. Phish is still learning how to live with me. (It’s okay. I’m complicated.) But every single time he calls me, he tells me that he loves me. Every single time. Even if we talk 10 times a day.

Where I am heavy and serious, Mr. Phish is light and goofy. See Exhibit A: Mr. Phish and his “moostache” (made with Mooster’s tail).

My parents, without question the kindest, most loving people I will ever know. I want to be exactly like them when I grow up. They are my strongest, most lasting anchor. My roots.

When all else fails and the seas are rough, I reach for my parents. And they are there. Period.

My sister, affectionately known as “the Christine whisperer” for her uncanny ability to talk me off every ledge.

I aspire to be like her every day. She is my big little sister, with wisdom and faith beyond her age. Best friend doesn’t even come close.

And she gave me one of the greatest gifts of my life: Moo. I know she’s not really mine, but I kindof think she is.

She is pure sunshine in sparkly shoes. Maybe someday she’ll like me half as much as she likes Grandma. If I’m lucky.

These people are more precious to me than I can articulate. When things are hard, as life tends to be, these people get me through. And I couldn’t be more grateful for them.

With people like this, who needs friends?

5 thoughts on “my people

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

