ahhh, vacation

It was pretty quiet on the blog last weekend, because we were enjoying a lovely fall getaway in Minnesota. We haven’t been up to the Cities since we moved to Iowa, even though it’s only about three and a half hours away. Monday was also our three-year anniversary, so we celebrated with a relaxing weekend up north.

As usual, I took a bazillion pictures of anything and everything that struck my fancy. Here’s a rundown of the best moments from the weekend.

1. Visiting my (favorite) alma mater

I have a bunch of degrees, but my bachelor’s degree from Macalester College is the one I’m most proud of. My time at Mac profoundly changed how I see the world and myself. It was bliss to set foot on that gorgeous campus.

2. Caramel apples

We ate lots of caramel apples. But I didn’t think to photograph them. They were amazingly delicious–tart, gooey, amazing. Why do caramel apples taste so much better on vacation?

3. The Sogn Valley Art Fair

On a farmstead just off a winding, two-lane highway, we found this funky, delightful art fair. So many beautiful, handmade things. Add in a banjo and some hot apple cider and you’ve got a winner.

4. Staying in Northfield

Northfield is a charming little college town. It is home to both St. Olaf and Carleton, each nestled in the hills with old stone buildings straight from an East Coast prep school brochure. But the downtown is also adorable. Funky little boutiques, antique shops, and a brand new cupcake shop. We stayed in a historic inn right on the river.

5. IKEA

Cue the angelic singing. It was my first trip to Ikea and it. was. rad. Everything I hoped it would be and more. Already planning the return trip.

6. Spending time with my parents

Yup, you read that right. We planned a weekend away and made reservations months ago. And then my mom called the very same historic inn in Northfield and made reservations for the very same weekend. It took us about two weeks to figure it out, and then they felt terrible for crashing our anniversary weekend.

But my parents are ridiculously fun to hang out with. So we tagged along with them and they tagged along with us. And it was cool.

All in all, a wonderful weekend. A little bit chilly but delightful nonetheless.

8 thoughts on “ahhh, vacation

  1. Sounds absolutely lovely! After our wedding a few weeks ago, my husband and I holidayed with my mom, dad, sister in law, and 5 yr old nephew! It was pretty awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for stopping by! Congrats on your wedding. Family vacations can be wonderful, as long as you all have enough space. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: wish me luck « this clever camera

  3. Pingback: a fall friend « this clever camera

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

