summer in a 9×9 pan

Day 14: Favorite

Remember when I was complaining about summer? I hate the heat and humidity blah blah blah. Here is one delicious reason to love summer: peaches.


This is my favorite dessert. It’s nothing fancy, but I absolutely adore it. It’s my mom’s recipe, and after one failed attempt to make it using canned peaches years ago (eek), it was pushed to the back of the recipe box.

This summer, I dug it out. I saw a friend’s post about fresh peaches and I felt inspired. It was every bit as delicious as I remembered.

We loved it so much, I made it again this week. This week’s peaches weren’t quite as ripe, so the peach flavor is less intense. But still delish.
I try to pace myself, eating one piece at a time.

But this dessert begs to be eaten by the spoonful straight from the pan. I can’t help myself.

***

Updated to add the recipe:

Lulu’s Peach Dessert

18 large marshmallows
1/4 c. milk
2 c. Dream Whip (1 package, prepared) – could substitute 2 c. Cool Whip
3 c. peaches, peeled and chopped

Crust:
1 1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs
1/4 c. sugar
6 T butter (melted)

Combine marshmallows and milk in a double boiler. Melt until smooth and then cool in fridge. Once the mixture is cooled, stir in the Dream Whip. Fold in the peaches. Mix up the crust ingredients and pat down into a 9×9 pan. Pour the mixture over crust. Cover and chill four hours, if you can wait that long to eat it.

***

The key is the ripeness of the peaches. I have always struggled to master the ripening process–either my fruit is rock hard or mealy/mushy. I never seem to hit that sweet, perfectly ripe spot. The dessert is still yummy with slightly underripe peaches but it’s spectacular with ripe fruit.

Oh, and the whole “chill four hours” thing is really optional. I have never, ever made it four hours before digging in. The wait time is more about letting the fruit layer set, but it will still taste divine even if it’s not fully set, I promise.

18 thoughts on “summer in a 9×9 pan

  1. Pingback: fruity pests « this clever camera

    • Dangerous but I justify it because I only make it once or maybe twice a year when peaches are in season. I will admit to eating it straight from the pan in heaping spoonfuls. Totally worth it.

  2. Pingback: an ooey-gooey end-of-summer dessert recipe. with pictures. « fiery skull diaries

  3. Pingback: 5 of my favorite posts from 2012 « this clever camera

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

