time away

Hiya!

Starting tomorrow, I will be on “vacation.” But this is no ordinary vacation. No sirree.

That’s right, friends. My lovely luck in the messed-up foot lottery earned me a special trip to this exotic locale:

I’ll spend half a day enjoying luxurious amenities such as anesthesia, a stylish hospital gown, and my very own IV.

And the pampering doesn’t stop there. After I’ve regained consciousness, I’ll head home with several lovely parting gifts, including stitches, pain medication, and two steel pins in my foot.

Ahhh. Nothing says vacation like steel pins.

In other news, frito pie, I am freaked about this.

I’m not sure how long I’ll be away from my darling blog, so I’m posting the rest of the week’s photos today. If I’m feeling rowdy enough to stop by post-surgery, then I guess you’ll just get more photos. If not, I’ll see you this weekend.

Have a great week!

Day 9: Big
One very big yawn from Genevieve. Aren’t those whiskers too wonderful for words?

Day 10: Favorite color
I love everything about this guy. His soft chenille body, his satiny ribbon mane, and his sweet face. I bought him for Moo, and then loved him so much that I kept him. Before you start throwing things and telling me I’m the worst aunt ever, allow me to say that I bought her a crocodile instead. He was equally cute. Almost.

Day 11: Letter
As I may have mentioned before, we’re sort of ferocious Nebraska fans. GO BIG RED!

Day 12: Texture
We have one of these in every room for the Mooster. He’s the only one of the three who will use them. Genevieve prefers the molding on the stairway. Bad Jeeveyboog.

Day 13: Open
Last weekend, we busted out one of my favorite wedding gifts: the ice cream maker. Growing up, we used to have homemade ice cream all summer long. I loved the sound of the machine grinding and adding the extra salt to make it colder. To this day, homemade ice cream is summer to me.

I’ve had it a few times at my parents’ house this year and thought it was time to try my hand at it. Things didn’t go exactly as planned but I think we did okay, considering it was the maiden voyage of the machine and I didn’t know what the hell I was doing. After what seemed like forever, the deafening noise stopped and we were pleasantly surprised to open the lid to this:

And it was good. Like, really good. But it made enough to feed an army, so this batch should last us until, oh, I dunno, September?

21 thoughts on “time away

  1. So sorry to hear about your foot. Hope the surgery goes well and wish you a speedy recovery. Love the cat picture and that little purple hippo is adorable. Hugs

  2. Christine! How are those beautiful feet feeling?!!! I miss you and your wonderful posts! I’m keeping you and your family in my prayers! (((HUGS to YOU)))

  3. Pingback: catching my breath « this clever camera

  4. Pingback: ticking by « this clever camera

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

