four for the fourth

Day 4: Fun

Happy Fourth of July! Today is fun for lots of reasons. Here are four:

1. Mr. Phish had to work today, so we didn’t get to sleep in. But I did get to have a nice, relaxed morning. As I’ve noted before, breakfast is my favorite meal to cook and to eat. And laid-back mornings are pure heaven for me. I made a big pot of coffee and stayed in my pajamas until nearly 11am. Heavenly. I also took advantage of the leisurely morning and whipped up this beauty:

I made a few small changes to the semi-reformed nerd‘s super simple quiche recipe. I’m not a fan of green olives (or green onions, to be honest), so cut those and subbed in mushrooms and turkey bacon. Delish. Pardon the furry intruder–Jeeveyboog thought it looked delish, too.

2. Speaking of, I also got the spend the day with my favorite furry friends:

Midweek lap time is such an unexpected bonus.

3. I made a quick trip to the mall after lunch and came home with this adorable find:

The balloon actually opens, like a little locket. And it was on sale. And I had a coupon. Joy!

4. And we ended the night the only way we could:

The temp today was 101 degrees, and the next week brings no relief. I hate summer. I know it’s sacrilege to say it, but I do.  I miss being outside. I miss fresh air. I miss my jeans. I hope October gets here soon.

All in all, a pretty great day off. And only a few days until the weekend!

3 thoughts on “four for the fourth

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

