javaholic

Happy June! First order of business, the new photo-a-day list from Chantelle at Fatmumslim:

Another awesome list from the very awesome Chantelle. This is my fifth month doing the challenge. I think I’m officially hooked!

Without further ado, let’s get going!

Day 1: Morning

I am officially a coffee snob. I didn’t set out to be, and I’m not the sort of coffee snob that most people are. I can’t stand Starbucks. I know people will chastise me for saying this, but, to my palate, it tastes the same as the diesel fuel coffee sold in travel plazas across the country. Yuck.

I’m a coffee snob in that I only like the coffee I brew at home. What’s that, you might ask? Hazelnut. Specifically, from Distant Lands coffee in Texas. It’s a long story but the happy ending is that I can order it online and have it shipped to my doorstep. Ain’t technology grand?

I buy whole bean so I can grind it myself. Sometimes I grind it finely, for a more intense flavor. Other times, I want it to be a little bit lighter, so I leave bigger chunks. Either way, it is delicious. A generous heap of Splenda and a splash of half and half and I’m set.

When I was in the midst of trying to finish my dissertation and writing for 9-10 hours a day, I would fill my little coffee pot to the very top and drink all 12 cups myself. Don’t tell my doctor.

I drink coffee for the relaxation factor. I know that sounds odd, but it’s true. Sure, the caffeine hit is nice, but there’s something innately soothing about a tall mug of coffee. On a nice morning, I could sit outside and sip for hours, just watching the world go by and enjoying my own little corner of hazelnut heaven.

And news flash! It’s good for you, too, so now I can feel even better about my morning must-have.

 

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

