the good old ways

Day 23: Technology

I love email. I adore blogging. I get lost on eBay and Pinterest.

But logging on and typing in a password can’t hold a candle to this:

Maybe I’m old school, but nothing compares to mail.

I’m talking about real mail. Not junk mail or catalogs or coupons. Not the newspaper. Not bills or bank statements.

Think about the last time you opened your mailbox to unexpectedly find mail. A card, a note, a care package.

Are you smiling? Of course you are. Mail does that.

I love sending random cards. Hello cards, cards to say I’m thinking of you, or, have a good Tuesday.

When the card store in the mall by our apartment went out of business, I bought hundreds of cards. I’m not even kidding. Hundreds…plural. I love cards.

I even design them. In secret.

I will never stop sending cards. Even as technology advances and things become more automated, I will stay locked in the old days of handwritten cards. It’s a old-fashioned act that deserves to kept alive.

9 thoughts on “the good old ways

  1. My mom loved sending cards to people. I do send cards but not near as many as my mom did. I hand deliver more than I mail. I love to get mail. I have received mail from a couple of blogging friends and that was so exciting. After reading this great post I think I shall get back to mailing more cards.

  2. I love mail! I love greeting cards and letters; the whole lot! It makes me kinda sad that I was born in this time, and now we communicate and do everything while sitting at that screen >.<

  3. I have enjoyed reading your site so I’ve nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for illuminating, informative blog content. You can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Hope you’re having a great Memorial Day weekend!

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

