holding back

Day 10: A favorite word

Today is a real challenge for me. One word? Impossible. I’m a full-blown English geek. Any visitor to our apartment would see all of the tell-tale signs: more bookshelves than people, dusty journals from childhood, magnetic poetry scattered on the fridge, books in every nook and cranny. I love words. I always have. As a child, I read for hours and hours. I loved nothing more in the world. Graduate school made me forget why I love reading, but I’m slowly learning to like it again.

I love to write. I surround myself with quotations and poems and snippets of songs. My days are steeped in words. Can’t. Get. Enough.

I could literally produce thousands of words about why I love words, but I’m going reign myself in and show a little restraint for once. But I couldn’t possibly choose just one favorite word, so here’s a favorite quote:

In this one small square of my fridge, you see there are no fewer than three quotation magnets. You thought I was kidding about the English geekiness.

I read this quotation at least once every single day. It is such an important reminder to me, as I find myself in a place of noise and trouble and it seems calm is pretty hard to come by. But I’m doing my best.

Another favorite quote adorns my bulletin board at work: Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.

Amen to that.

4 thoughts on “holding back

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

