a perfect portrait

Day 6: You

Me, 1980. Rocking the terrible two’s. Or really, it seems, the stubborn two’s. I’m sure my mother and the people behind the camera were dancing and waving their hands, working overtime to coax a smile out of me. And there I sit, frowning stubbornly. No temper tantrum, no tears. Just staring down the camera, hands crossed, quietly refusing to cooperate.

To me, this photo is a tiny, rose-colored window into the person I am today. Stubborn, independent, a bit frowny. And I still firmly refuse to do things that I don’t want to do.

P.S. Isn’t that shag carpet hilarious? It’s so grossly yellow in the sea of pinks. Ick.

7 thoughts on “a perfect portrait

  1. Christine, you did look like a very very naughty child in this picture or you were just having a very very bad day… You could have at least tried to humour the photographer or your mum (joys of being a child) 🙂 🙂 😉 😉

    Let’s just blame it on the terrific two’s

  2. I think it is a cute photo. Sometimes kids who look “stubborn” in those situations are just future adults who will think for themselves. Or not, just stubborn for such situations 😉 Congratulations you have an interesting blog! I don’t why but kind of reminds me the french movie “Amelie” one of my favorites! Greetings be well!

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

