a lovely weekend

Hello! I’ve been away from the computer for a few days as part of an effort to spend a bit more time “unplugged.” We also took a lovely little trip to a nearby bed & breakfast. It was a nice getaway and a wonderful excuse to photograph anything and everything. Photos and a recap to come.

Saturday’s topic was animal and that day, we saw a furry friend for the first time this spring.
This is Mopsy. We met him last summer when he was just a tiny little thing.

And yes, I do honestly believe that this is Mopsy. And yes, I do understand that there are many, many bunnies in my neighborhood. Let me have my happy little story, okay? Geesh.

The boogies love Mopsy. He was fast as lightning when he was a baby, and now that he’s a big fat bunny, they are still fascinated by him but they are less sure of him. You can see Jeeveyboog’s little mind turning–are you a cat? You don’t look like a cat. Where’s your tail? Are you a toy? Are you my buddy? Why are your ears so big?

Sunday’s topic was breakfast. We treated ourselves to Panera. As you likely remember from an earlier post, I’m a fan. I ventured out of my comfort zone and tried the blueberry bagel with wild blueberry cream cheese.

Delish. I also enjoyed a ham and swiss cheese egg quiche.

What? I told you it was a treat. I don’t limit myself when it comes to Panera breakfast.

The food was delicious and the weather was so nice that we enjoyed our breakfast spread sitting outside in the surprisingly warm March sun. But here’s what really made breakfast special:

My dad drove over Saturday for a quick visit. I almost never get him all to myself. It was wonderful. We hung out, watched basketball, and ate lots of food. My dad is one of my most favorite people in the world. He’s a keeper, for sure. Hopefully my mom will get to come soon for some shopping and R&R (she spent the weekend in Dallas at the merchandise mart, buying Christmas merchandise for their store). Getting to see my family more often is the number one reason I love living in Iowa. They are the most wonderful, wacky, imperfect group of people, and I’m so lucky they’re mine.

Today’s topic is key, so I’ll leave you with a sneak peek of our getaway trip:

One thought on “a lovely weekend

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

