working girl

Happy Wednesday! Today’s photo shows you where I work.

where i work

Allow me to walk you through the photo, which is more revealing than it seems at first glance.

Exhibit A: Ben and Jerry’s insulated coffee mug. I’m a wee bit obsessed with all things Ben & Jerry. We planned our honeymoon around a childhood dream of visiting the factory in Vermont. I met Jerry (yes, the Jerry). We had coffee and visited his office. It was cool. I start almost every day with coffee (Hazelnut is my favorite), so the mug is a staple at my desk.

Exhibit B: The Good Karma Monkey. This little guy has been with me for many, many years. He got me through two graduate degrees, three states, 18 months of wedding planning, and hundreds of grumpy days. There is no disputing the amazing powers of the Good Karma Monkey. He is a wise old soul and I am a bit superstitious about having him around during stressful and/or important times.

Exhibit C: Turquoise Sharpie. Everyone in my department got to choose a pen color (we’re English geeks, deal with it). We all have different pens so that everyone can easily identify who wrote what on the documents we’re editing. I am fairly certain that my soul is turquoise, as this pen makes my heart happy every time I use it.

The phone is mine, though I don’t know how to use it because no one ever calls me. And the folder contains a job for one of my 30+ nonprofit clients.

Other important items that are not pictured:
-my headphones, which rarely leave my ears.
-approximately 700 photos of Moo, which made for some awkward moments when I first started and people asked how old my daughter was and I had to ‘fess up that I’m stalking my sister’s baby.
-a plethora of Husker merchandise, because I am the lone Nebraska fan in a building full of cocky Hawkeyes. I have to represent.
-chocolate, in assorted flavors, at all times.

And now you know more about my little cube than you ever needed to.

 

One thought on “working girl

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

