the challenge

I’m gonna let you in on a little secret: I’m a researcher.

Literally. In a past life, I did research for a living. Grad school was grueling in so many ways, but the thrill of digging in to a new topic or book was undeniable. I loved the digging. The other stuff, not so much. But I love to do research.

This training has carried forward into all areas of my life. Last week, I wanted to make a red velvet cake. Some people might just Google it and print out the first recipe that comes up. But not this girl. Noooooo. I want to see at least three recipes, plus a blog post or two about red velvet cakes and a slew of photos. And then I want to compare those recipes to the one I found in a cookbook and the one I got from a friend. And, and, and…

You can see how it gets a bit out of control.

Obviously, I’ m totally jazzed about the new camera thing. But it’s dangerous. I’ve been in research mode since I got it. And the research will continue–in earnest!–but I also need to USE THE CAMERA.

So, without further ado:

I’m already a few days behind, so I’ll try to play catch-up over the course of the next few days. And if all goes well, maybe I’ll tackle another challenge in March.

I’m also going to watch a few awesome tutorials from Lynda.com. More on this later…

Here we go!

One thought on “the challenge

  1. You kind of remind me of myself, I’m the type of person if I’m looking to do something or attempt something I just hit up the internet, and depending on what it is youtube or something…or some of the things that most people shrug off, I can’t I absolutely NEED to know about it or it will play on my conscience and I need to go do some research on it lol…but in your future posts, I’m looking forward to seeing how well you adapt and learn to use your camera 🙂

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

