why i’m here

For the last few years, I’ve thought on and off about blogging. It just never really seemed like the thing for me.

Don’t get me wrong–I hold no grudges against bloggers. I read TheSpohrsAreMultiplying, CakeWrecks, and ThePioneerWoman religiously. Heck, I even used a blog in my dissertation! I love me some blogs. I just never felt like I needed one.

Until now.

Why? Well, it’s pretty simple. For Christmas, I got a fancypants camera. Like, a real camera, with lenses and stuff. I’m the designated picture-taker in my family, and I was wearing out my trusty old Kodak point-and-shoot.

So I did my research, price-shopped around a bit, and plunked my Christmas money down on this:

Nikon D3100

It is a thing of beauty.

But I don’t know how to use it.

And before you disagree, or make some reassuring comment about how I’m not giving myself enough credit, I offer you proof. Humiliating proof.

This morning, I made biscuits and gravy. I’m a wee bit obsessed with milk gravy right now, mostly because I’ve just recently learned to make it and I aspire to make gravy like my mom’s gravy (which is the stuff of fairytales, people).

So I made breakfast. And then I thought, hey! I should photograph this and use it in a blog post!

So I got out my prettiest bright blue Fiesta plate and arranged the biscuits just so, and ladled the gravy over them just so, and….oh. It was lovely.

And then I picked up my camera and this is what happened:

Biscuits and gravy, take 1

And then this.

Biscuits and gravy, take 2

Why is the gravy peach? Why do the sausage pieces look like mushrooms? Why is my stomach turning?

And then I calmly put the camera down and picked up a fork. Despite looking just plain nasty, the biscuits and gravy were mighty delicious.

So now you know my dirty little secret. I have a fancypants camera that I don’t understand.

Which brings me to the title of this post. I’m gonna learn. I’m going to become a Nikon Jedi Master. And someday, I’m going to post a picture of biscuits and gravy that will not make my readers nauseous and vaguely repulsed. Promise.

Here we go, into the rabbit hole of this clever camera…

4 thoughts on “why i’m here

  1. Good way to start my morning, with a giggle. know you will do amazing things with your new camera, bet the ranch on it.

  2. Pingback: 2012′s top 10 posts « this clever camera

Feeling chatty? I'm all ears...

